More recovery nutrition

 

Just thought I’d pop a picture of my boyfriend’s dinner yesterday after a heavy session of dips and burpees.  Since I’m a veggie I had more or less the same but no fish. He had oven baked Haddock with cream cheese, broccoli and cauliflower, a green leafy salad followed by a yummy pud consisting of cottage cheese, blueberries and almonds.

 

Haddock is an excellent source of protein (roughly around 20-25 grams  per serving), very low in carbs and calories but has a high level of B-vitamins and essential minerals. Both broccoli and cauliflower are amazing nutritional foods (clickhere for a healthy alternative to mashed potatoes). Broccoli has a high level of potassium, which is brilliant after a workout for muscle recovery  and helps maintain a healthy nervous system. Additionally  it can help aid blood pressure and a healthy heart. Cauliflower i rich in antioxidants, helps reduce inflammations (good if you’ve trained too hard) and is thought to be protective against cardiovascular diseases. In regards to our super-healthy pudding, this is were I got most of my protein from ( additionally I had a protein shake after my morning pole-workout and eggs for lunch). Cottage cheese is low in fat and high in casein protein which provides a slow release of amino acids for a subtsantial amount of time. AMAZING! I could never be a vegan, because I can simply not live without cottage cheese. I’m lactose intolerant, but since cheese contain lactose I can just get about having a daily serving of cottage cheese as long as I avoid other sorts of dairy. Furthermore, cottage cheese is a good source of  calcium, hence good for prevention of osteoporosis. The berries added loads of antioxidants and the almond benefited by providing us with HDL cholesterol (the GOOD cholesterol your body NEEDS to function. ) and loads of vitamin-E for healthy skin. You might react on the low carb content, but since we had a very late supper and were not going to do anything physical, additional carbs were not necessary.

Leave a Reply

