Weekend bliss

When I was at uni, weekends were never that special. Everyday seemed to be the same. In my first two years we normally went out in the middle of the week and weekends were time for house parties and studying. In my final year of uni I spent most of my weekends working at a gym. Since I started working at a 9-5 job, weekends have become sacred to me. They are used to relax, prepare for the week, cook for the week, catch up on my Yoga studies, chill with my boyfriend, long runs and relaxing baths. 

Yesterday was a day of training. expect for two half hour walks and 30 minutes of stretching, I left my body to recover. I enjoyed a lie in until 9am! Spent the morning studying and in the evening me and my boyfriend made a yummy fish pie with soy milk and sweet potato mash for a healthier version. we also made a batch of brownies. A colleague gave me a recipe on fat free black bean brownies. The only issue was they didn’t really cook very well and were really moist, a bit too moist… It might be because we used melted dark chocolate rather than cocoa as suggested in the original recipe. 

But if anyone is interested, replace the fat with bananas, use argarve suryp (and stevia if the mixture is too fluid) instead of sugar and mixed black beans instead of flour. You get a healthy treat that is high in protein and also has a portion of fruit in it. Winner!

Leave a Reply

